Sunday, February 28, 2016


"Spotlight" was the big winner at the 31st Annual Independent Spirit Awards with this investigative journalism drama taking five awards including Best Feature. The stars of "Beasts of No Nation", Abraham Attah and Idris Elba took the Best Male Lead and Best Supporting Male prizes for their amazing work in the film. One of my favorite films from last year Marielle Heller's "The Diary of a Teenage Girl" took the prize for Best First Feature and Mya Taylor became the first transgender actress to take a prize as Best Supporting Female for her fabulous turn in another of my favorites, "Tangerine".

Here is the complete list of winners from the 2016 Independent Spirit Awards:

Best Feature: "Spotlight"
Best Director: Tom McCarthy, "Spotlight"
Best Screenplay: Tom McCarthy & Josh Singer, "Spotlight"
Best Female Lead: Brie Larson, "Room"
Best Male Lead: Abraham Attah, "Beasts of No Nation"
Best Supporting Female: Mya Taylor, "Tangerine"
Best Supporting Male: Idris Elba, "Beasts of No Nation"
Best First Feature: "The Diary of a Teenage Girl"
Best First Screenplay: Emma Donoghue, "Room"
Best Cinematography: Ed Lachman, "Carol"
Best Editing: Tom McArdle, "Spotlight"
Best International Film: "Son of Saul" (Hungary)
Best Documentary: "The Look of Silence"
Robert Altman Award: "Spotlight"
John Cassavetes Award (For best feature made under $500,000): "Krisha"