Thursday, December 15, 2016


The female-buddy thriller, "Thelma & Louise",  Rob Reiner's comic fantasy,  "The Princess Bride",  Hitchcock's horror masterpiece, "The Birds", "Steamboat Bill, Jr.", the Buster Keaton silent, the '80's teen classic, "The Breakfast Club", Frank Capra's 1941 screwball comedy, "Ball of Fire", Barbra Streisand's film debut in the musical, "Funny Girl" and the animated films, "The Lion King" and "Who Framed Roger Rabbit" are just a few of the twenty-five films inducted in to this year's National Film Registry.  These widely varied films were selected because of their cultural, historic or aesthetic importance and to showcase and preserve the diversity of the American film heritage.

Here is the complete list of the films selected to the 2016 National Film Registry. The films chosen must be at least ten years old and this now brings the total to 700 films in the registry:

"The Atomic Cafe" (1982)

"Ball of Fire" (1941)

"The Beau Brummels" (1928)

"The Birds" (1963)

"Blackboard Jungle" (1955)

"The Breakfast Club" (1982)

"The Decline of Western Civilization " (1981)

"East of Eden" (1955)

"Funny Girl" (1968)

"Life of an American Fireman" (1903)

"The Lion King" (1994)

"Lost Horizon" (1937)

"The Musketeers of a Pig Alley" (1912)

"Paris Is Burning" (1990)

"Point Blank" (1967)

"The Princess Bride" (1987)

"Putney Swope" (1969)

"Rushmore" (1998)

"Solomon Sir Jones" films (1924-28)

"Steamboat Bill, Jr." (1928)

"Suzanne, Suzanne" (1982)

"Thelma & Louise" (1991)

"20,000 Leagues Under the Sea" (1916)

"TA Walk in The Sun" (1945)

"Who Framed Roger Rabbit" (1988)