Thursday, December 18, 2014


The National Film Registry announced the twenty-five films that have been inducted for this year. These works range from the first Pixar computer-generated short ("Luxo, Jr."), the first Hollywood 3-D film ("House of Wax"), a horror classic ("Rosemary's Baby"), a stoner detective noir ("The Big Lebowski") and the beloved children's film that introduced us to Oompa-Loompas ("Willy Wonka and The Chocolate Factory"). The goal of the registry is to showcase the extraordinary diversity of America’s film heritage and by preserving these films, protecting a crucial element of American creativity, culture and history.

Here is the complete list of the films selected in to the 2014 National Film Registry. The films chosen must be at least ten years old and this now brings the total to 650 films in the registry:

"13 Lakes" (2004)

"Bert Williams Lime Kiln Club Field Day" (1913)

"The Big Lebowski"(1998)

"Down Argentine Way" (1940)

"The Dragon Painter" (1919)

"Felicia" (1965)

"Ferris Bueller’s Day Off" (1986)

"The Gang’s All Here" (1943)

"House of Wax" (1953)

"Into the Arms of Strangers: Stories of the Kindertransport" (2000)

"Little Big Man" (1970)

"Luxo Jr." (1986)

"Moon Breath Beat" (1980)

"Please Don’t Bury Me Alive!" (1976)

"The Power and the Glory" (1933)

"Rio Bravo" (1959)

"Rosemary’s Baby" (1968)

"Ruggles of Red Gap"(1935)

"Saving Private Ryan"(1998)

"Shoes" (1916)

"State Fair"(1933)

"Unmasked" (1917)

"V-E + 1" (1945)

"The Way of Peace" (1947)

"Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory" (1971)