Thursday, December 20, 2012


The National Film Registry of the Library of Congress has selected twenty-five American films that are culturally, historically or aesthetically significant and will be preserved for future generations. The films range from the oldest; the 1897 document which chronicles the famed boxing match between "Gentleman Jim" and Bob Fitzgerald held on St Patrick's Day to the first filmed version of "Uncle Tom's Cabin" to the Audrey Hepburn classic, "Breakfast At Tiffany's" to the iconic 1971 Clint Eastwood film, "Dirty Harry" to the sci-fi thriller, "The Matrix".

The Librarian makes the annual selections to the registry after reviewing hundreds of titles nominated by the public and conferring with library film curators and members of the National Film Preservation Board. This year's selections bring the number of films in the registry to 600 since the program began in 1989.

These are the following films selected to the 2012 National Film Registry:

"The Corbett-Fitzsimmons Title Fight" (1897)

"The Wishing Ring: An Idyll of Old England" (1914)

"Uncle Tom's Cabin" (1914)

"Kodachrome Color Motion Picture Tests" (1922)

"The Augustas" (1930s-1950s)

"The Kidnappers Foil" (1930s-1950s)

"Sons of the Desert" (1933)

"The Middleton Family at the New York World's Fair" (1939)

"Born Yesterday" (1950)

"3:10 to Yuma" (1957)

"Anatomy of a Murder" (1959)

"Breakfast at Tiffany's" (1961)

"Parable" (1964)

"They Call It Pro Football" (1967)

"Dirty Harry" (1971)

"Two-Lane Blacktop" (1971)

"The Spook Who Sat by the Door" (1973)

"Hours for Jerome: Parts 1 and 2" (1980-82)

"A Christmas Story" (1983)

"The Times of Harvey Milk" (1984)

"Samsara: Death and Rebirth in Cambodia" (1990)

"Slacker" (1991)

"A League of Their Own" (1992)

"One Survivor Remembers" (1995)

"The Matrix" (1999)